RUN247 / Race Guides / Black Canyon Ultras: Route, live tracking and how to enter

Black Canyon Ultras: Route, live tracking and how to enter


The Black Canyon Ultras by Hoka is a weekend of ultra running in Mayer, Arizona along the non-motorised Black Canyon Trail, featuring a mixture of single track, jeep roads and pieces of an old stagecoach route.

The event organises two races on the weekend of February 18-19, with the flagship 100km race commencing this year on Saturday, followed by the shorter 60km race on Sunday.

Run by Hoka, the 100km event will offer qualifying slots for the shoe company’s biggest event, the Western States Endurance Run in 2023. The top two finishers in the men and women’s race will receive a golden ticket to Western States in June.

Date, start time, live tracking and streaming

The 2023 edition of the Black Canyon Ultras by Hoka will see the 100km event get underway from Mayer High School. The first of three waves will head off at 7:00am (MST), with the second wave at 7:30am (MST) and the third and final wave starting at 8:00am (MST).

The 2022 Men’s 100km podium of Scott Traer, Trueheart Brown and Jeffrey Colt (L-R) [Photo Credit – Aravaipa Running].

On Sunday, February 19th, the 60km event will also begin from Mayer High School, but this time there will only be one wave. The competitors will begin the race at 7:00am (MST).

To track runners in both the 100km race on Saturday and the 60km race on Sunday, click here.

To watch the live stream of the 100km race on Saturday, including the “Golden Ticket Race”, which will follow the battle to be the first two men and women across the line, click here.

Facts, Tips and FAQ

For the professionals and athletes at the front end of the 100km race, two golden tickets are up for grabs for the Western States Endurance Run, which will go to the first two men and first two women across the line.

The race also offers additional slots to Western States, with the 100km race acting as a 2024 Western States 100 qualifier. Athletes must finish the 100km event in under 17 hours to be eligible for the lottery that will decide places for next year’s Western States in California.

Black Canyon Ultras by Hoka route

The Black Canyon 100km begins at Mayer High School in Arizona and follows a historic trail used since the times of prehistoric Native American travellers and traders as it makes its way down to Emery Henderson Trailhead, taking in 1,580m of elevation gain on the way.

Along the trail, athletes will cross through Black Canyon and the Agua Aria river multiple times, as they run parallel to the old Black Canyon stagecoach track between Phoenix and Prescott. There are ten aid stations along the 100km route, with the first coming in Antelope Mesa (Mile 7.7) and the last before the finish at Doe Spring (Mile 58.6).

The Black Canyon 60km follows the same route as the flagship event, starting from Mayer High School, but finishing instead at Rock Springs Cafe. Along the way, there will be six available aid stations, with the first coming at Antelope Mesa (Mile 7.7) and the last before the finish at Soap Creek (Mile 31.2).

The Black Canyon 100km has a cut off time of 20 hours from the start time, with the 60km race competitors given a 12 hour cut off time from the start.

How to enter Black Canyon Ultras by Hoka

The entry portal for the Black Canyon Ultras by Hoka opens every year on April 1st, with registration for the 2024 event available from the start of April at the following link.

Entries start from $145 for the 60km event and $260 for the 100km event. There is a limited number of entries, with only 800 spots available for the 60km event and 1200 spots for the 100km event.

Every year, there are also ten spots available for competitors willing to raise money for charity, with charity entries supporting the Black Canyon Trail Coalition. For more information on charity spots, email

Results and course records

Course Records (Point-to-point):

  • Men – 7:52:26 – Sage Canaday (2016)
  • Women – 8:48:32 – Brittany Peterson (2021)

Men’s Previous Winners:

  • 2022 – Trueheart Brown (USA) – 7:57:27.
  • 2021 – Tyler Green (USA) – 8:06:33.
  • 2020 – Hayden Hawks (USA) – 7:55:33.
  • 2019 – Matt Daniels (USA) – 7:20:28.
  • 2018 – Tim Freriks (USA – 8:12:06.

Women’s Previous Winners:

  • 2022 – Clare Gallagher (USA) – 9:06:21.
  • 2021 – Brittany Peterson (USA) – 8:48:32.
  • 2020 – Camille Herron (USA) 9:21:27.
  • 2019 – Kaci Lickteig (USA) – 8:38:38.
  • 2018 – Alisa Macdonald (CAN) – 8:53:33.

Latest Running News

Heather Jackson (USA) - 2nd at IRONMAN Lake Placid 2022
Heather Jackson on her trail running adventure so far, Western States and UTMB
John Kelly Damian Hall Barkley Marathons 2023 loop two photo credit: Davidmillerphotography_ on Instagram
Damian Hall Q&A on his epic first experience at Barkley Marathons
Katie Schide wins UTMB 2022 photo copyright UTMB
Reigning UTMB champ Katie Schide claims Eiffel Tower triumph
Jasmin Paris climbing Barkley Marathons loop three 2023 photo credit: Davidmillerphotography_ on Instagram
‘I do think a woman can finish’ – Jasmin Paris hopes Barkley effort inspired others
Barkley Marathons 2023 finishers Aurelien Sanchez, John Kelly and Karel Sabbe photo credit: Davidmillerphotography_ on Instagram
Lucky walnut shells, Brer Rabbit and more – what the Barkley Marathons finishers said