RUN247 / Running News / Mountain Running News / International U18 Mountain Running World Cup 2022: Preview, route & past winners

International U18 Mountain Running World Cup 2022: Preview, route & past winners


The International Under 18 Mountain Running Cup returns this weekend in the northern Italian town of Saluzzo following a two-year absence.

The annual World Mountain Running Association (WMRA) event provides junior runners between 16 and 17 years old with the foundations to progress in the discipline as many compete on the international stage for the first time.

Cancelled in 2020 and 2021 amid the coronavirus pandemic, the competition was first held in 2006 when it was dubbed the International Mountain Running Youth Challenge.

This year’s event will see around 90 athletes from 11 different nations – Wales, France, England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Italy, Poland, Scotland, Slovenia, United States, and Hungary – go head-to-head, with runners grouped into teams of a maximum of five.

International U18 Mountain Running World Cup 2022 route

The 4350m course will feature two loops – one of 550m and another of 3800m – which start and end at the same point in the heart of Saluzzo, with an elevation change of 155m.

The route, which passes historical local landmarks such as the ancient residence of the Marquises and the Civic Tower, features mainly cobblestone and grass, with some short asphalt sections.

Date & start time

The girl’s race will start at 10:15am (all local time) on Sunday 26 June, followed by the boy’s event at 11:00am.

The winners of the 2019 International Under 18 Mountain Running Cup in Susa, Italy. Images credit: Damiano Benedetto

Previous winners

Year – Girl’s winner, Boy’s winner. Girl’s team winner, Boy’s team winner.

2006 – Elinor Kirk (WAL), Micheal Gillespie (SCO). Italy, Scotland.

2007 – Hannah Bateson (ENG), Xavier Chevrier (ITA). Italy, Germany.

2008 – Polina Avdeeva (RUS), Andrey Rusakov (RUS). England, Italy.

2009 – Beatrice Curtabbi (ITA), Andrey Rusakov (RUS). Italy, Russia.

2010 – Ffion Price (WAL), Dag Somez (TUR). Russia, Ireland.

2011 – Lea Einfalt (SLO), Rafal Matuszczak (POL). Russia, Poland.

2012 – Weronika Pyzik (POL), Yemanebehran Crippa (ITA). Ireland, Italy.

2013 – Burcu Subatan (TUR), Ridvan Yilmaz (TUR). Turkey, Turkey.

2014 – Elsa Racasan (FRA), Davide Magnini (ITA). France, Italy.

2015 – Bahar Atalay (TUR), Daniel Pattis (ITA). Turkey, Italy.

2016 – Barbora Havlíčková (CZE), Ahmet Alkanoglu (TUR). Poland, Turkey.

2017 – Nadia Battocletti (ITA), Alain Cavagna (ITA). Italy, Turkey.

2018 – Joslin Blair (USA), Matthew Mackay (ENG). Italy, England.

2019 – Katja Pattis (ITA), Hugo Schropfer (FRA). Italy, France.

Full archive

Latest Running News

Heather Jackson (USA) - 2nd at IRONMAN Lake Placid 2022
Heather Jackson on her trail running adventure so far, Western States and UTMB
John Kelly Damian Hall Barkley Marathons 2023 loop two photo credit: Davidmillerphotography_ on Instagram
Damian Hall Q&A on his epic first experience at Barkley Marathons
Katie Schide wins UTMB 2022 photo copyright UTMB
Reigning UTMB champ Katie Schide claims Eiffel Tower triumph
Jasmin Paris climbing Barkley Marathons loop three 2023 photo credit: Davidmillerphotography_ on Instagram
‘I do think a woman can finish’ – Jasmin Paris hopes Barkley effort inspired others
Barkley Marathons 2023 finishers Aurelien Sanchez, John Kelly and Karel Sabbe photo credit: Davidmillerphotography_ on Instagram
Lucky walnut shells, Brer Rabbit and more – what the Barkley Marathons finishers said