RUN247 / Running News / Trail Running News / Duo and Yao take victory at Ultra-Trail Ninghai by UTMB

Duo and Yao take victory at Ultra-Trail Ninghai by UTMB

Stuart Dick
Published on
Endure 24
How Far Will You Go? UK's Biggest 24hr Trail Race

Ji Duo and Miao Yao, both of China, claimed victory in the UTNH105 at the Ultra-Trail Ninghai by UTMB, with both winners considerably ahead of their nearest rivals in the field.

New to the UTMB World Series calendar for 2023, Ultra-Trail Ninghai brought together several of China’s most accomplished runners in the hunt for those vital UTMB running stones.


Duo and Yao dominant

Duo, who had finished third at the 2020 Panda Trail by UTMB, took victory in the men’s 106km UTNH105 race in a time of 10:46:58, crossing the line 11 minutes and 48 seconds ahead of his nearest rival Guomin Deng (China) (10:58:49). Mengkai Bate (China) rounded off the podium in a time of 11:09:11.

In the women’s UTNH105, Yao, who last competed on the UTMB circuit in 2019, headed the field in a time of 11:35:48, good enough for sixth overall. She finished three minutes and 53 seconds ahead of Fuzhao Xiang (China), with Anna Li (China) a distant third in a time of 13:35:36.

Ultra-Trail Ninghai by UTMB
© Ultra-Trail Ninghai by UTMB

Guan, Zhou take CHN60 crowns

Yousheng Guan topped the time-sheets in the men’s CNH60 raced over the 58km distance. A first venture into the world of UTMB, Guan claimed his fifth successive race victory in the 50KM category following wins at Run Guizhou-“Loushan-FlowerSea” (2019), Chando Himalaya Energy Ultra Trail (2020), Loushan Warrior (2020) and Tsaigu Trail (2022)

Guan finished in a time of 5:06:39, 10 minutes 24 seconds ahead of his closest challenger Juwei Zi (China) who finished in 5:17:03. Hu Zhao (China) completed the podium in a time of 5:26:30.

Ruifang Zhou took top honours in the women’s CNH60 claiming her first victory on the UTMB circuit. She completed the course in a time of 6:18:42, over 35 minutes ahead of Jun Liu (China) in second place, who finished in a time of 6:54:39. Chaochao Wu (China) was a close third in a time of 6:57:56.

Ultra-Trail Ninghai by UTMB
© Ultra-Trail Ninghai by UTMB

Li, Zhao claim YNH25 honours

987 runner completed the YNH25 race which was won by Pengcheng Li (China) in a time of 1:49:04. He bested Shenshen Wang (China) who finished a minute and 46 seconds behind (1:50:50)). He was followed over the line by Biao Yu (China) a further minute and three second back (1:51:03).

In the women’s YNH25, Jinghan Zhao (China) took the tape in 2:13:31 with Lili Gao (China) a minute and 25 seconds back (2:14:56). Youyi Su (China) was the final member of the podium trio in a time of 2:15:06.

Ultra-Trail Ninghai by UTMB (UTNH105), Saturday 15 April 2023, 106km.


  1. Ji Duo (CN) – 10:46:58.
  2. Guomin Deng (CN) – 10:58:46
  3. Mengkai Bate (CN) – 11:09:11.


  1. Miao Yao (CN) – 11:35:48.
  2. Fuzhao Xiang (CN) – 11:55:50.
  3. Anna Li (CN) – 13:35:36.

Ultra-Trail Ninghai by UTMB (CNH60), Saturday 15 April 2023, 58km.


  1. Yousheng Guan (CN) – 5:06:39.
  2. Juwei Zi (CN) – 5:17:03.
  3. Hu Zhao (CN) – 5:26:30.


  1. Ruifang Zhou (CN) – 6:18:42.
  2. Jun Liu (CN) – 6:54:39.
  3. Chaochao Wu (CN) – 6:57:56.

Ultra-Trail Ninghai by UTMB (YNH25), Saturday 15 April 2023, 24.7km.


  1. Pengcheng Li (CN) – 1:49:04.
  2. Shenshen Wang (CN) – 1:50:50.
  3. Biao Yu (CN) – 1:51:03.


  1. Jinghan Zhao (CN) – 2:13:31.
  2. Lili Gao (CN) – 2:14:56.
  3. Youyi Su (CN) – 2:15:06.
Stuart Dick
Written by
Stuart Dick
Stuart is a graduate of the University of Sunderland with a masters' degree in Sports Journalism. He spends a lot of his time running and cycling around West Yorkshire, England.


In episode 1 of our new SBRX Show we sit down with ultra runners and coaches Kim and Jayson Cavill to get their take on the Barkley Marathons and triathlon & trail running gear reviews, training tips and more

Latest Running News

Courtney Dauwalter Transgrancanaria win [Photo credit: The Adventure Bakery / The North Face Transgrancanaria]
Hardrock 100 results 2024: Dauwalter and Pommeret SMASH course records
Luke Grenfell Shaw wins Val d Aran 2024 photo copyright UTMB
Emotional UTMB win for Luke Grenfell-Shaw MBE on anniversary of brother’s tragic death
Nina Engelhard wins Grossglockner Mountain race 2024 photo credit WMRA Marco Gulberti
Grossglockner Mountain Run 2024 results: Engelhard and Omaya Atuya take the wins
Joyce Muthoni Njeru wins Broken Arrow Skyrace 2024 photo credit Scott Rokis
Joyce Muthoni Njeru bids for Valsir Mountain Running World Cup hat-trick
Courtney Dauwalter crosses the finish line Mt Fuji 100 Photo credit: Fuji Hakone Izu Trail Support - Gran Canaria World Trail Majors
‘Exploding what everyone thought possible’ – Dauwalter and Schide are opening ‘the floodgates’
trail running on your terms

Never miss out with our trail alerts & digest. Get a dose of adventure & inspiration with Boundless.

Invalid email address
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...