RUN247 / Running News / Comrades Marathon 2023: Tete Dijana looks to defend his crown

Comrades Marathon 2023: Tete Dijana looks to defend his crown

Olly Green
Published on
Endure 24
How Far Will You Go? UK's Biggest 24hr Trail Race

The 2023 Comrades Marathon is nearly upon us, with thousands preparing to take on the down route from Pietermaritzburg to Durban.

This year’s race has an official race distance of 87.7km, as competitors race for victory in a number of prize categories – the men and women’s winners earning over €20,000.

The men’s field this year features a number of past winners – as does the women’s – and promises to be an exciting race from start to finish.


Dijana aims to crown Nedbank again

Last year saw five of the top seven finishers all come from the Nedbank running club, but it was Tete Dijana who proved chief amongst them.

He won last year’s race in a time of 5:30:38, with clubmate and 2019 winner Edward Mothibi three minutes behind him and Dan Matshailwe, another Nedbank runner, a further three minutes behind Mothibi.

Expect all those names to feature near the top three, with Nedbank set to work together once more to assert dominance over South Africa’s most famous ultra.

Tete Dijana after winning the 2022 Comrades Marathon
Tete Dijana after winning the 2022 Comrades Marathon. [Photo credit: Comrades Marathon]

Perhaps the chief non-Nedbank competitor will be 2018 winner Bongmusa Mthembu. Fourth last year, he was the fastest non-Nedbank runner and has set himself more preparation time for the race this year, competing in the Om Die Dam 50km, which he won in 2:56:33.

He is a three time-winner at the Comrades Marathon, his first in 2014 when he was registered with Nedbank, and his other two coming in back-to-back wins in 2017 and 2018 for his current team Arthur Ford.


International talent

The last non-South African to win the race was Stephen Muzhingi, the Zimbabwean taking three titles in a row between 2009 and 2011, and it seems a tall order to expect anyone other than local runners to take the title.

But regardless, there are those who will be competing. British runner Shane Cliffe has finishers in the Lakes in a Day and The Grand Tour of Skiddaw to his name.

There’s also Simon Brown, who has run the Marathon des Sables and qualified for the cancelled Western States 100 in 2020, and experienced runner and coach Ian Sharman.

Olly Green
Written by
Olly Green
Olly is the content lead for RUN247, is a regular contributor to TRI247 and keeps an eye out for content that appeals to both audiences including interviews with pro Heather Jackson.


In episode 1 of our new SBRX Show we sit down with ultra runners and coaches Kim and Jayson Cavill to get their take on the Barkley Marathons and triathlon & trail running gear reviews, training tips and more

Latest Running News

John Kelly Damian Hall Barkley Marathons 2023 loop three with Laz photo credit: Davidmillerphotography_ on Instagram
“A fitting end” – Barkley Marathons genius Laz Lake’s epic #Lazcon trek reaches conclusion
Kipngeno and Njeru win credit Jonathan Wyatt
Kipngeno and Njeru kick off Mountain Running World Cup in style with dominant wins
Runners at the 2022 Comrades Marathon
Secret timing points set to expose course-cutting cheats at Comrades Marathon
Allie McLaughlin Broken Arrow 2023 photo credit Peter Maksimow
Stellar startlists as Broken Arrow kicks off 2024 Valsir Mountain Running World Cup
Chris Cope crosses the finish line to win the 2024 race photo credit Montane Summer Spine
Chris Cope and Sue Straw prove a class apart in the 268-mile Summer Spine Race
trail running on your terms

Never miss out with our trail alerts & digest. Get a dose of adventure & inspiration with Boundless.

Invalid email address
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...