RUN247 / Running News / Trail Running News / WMTRC 2023 long trail: Delespierre and Roubiol secure double French triumph

WMTRC 2023 long trail: Delespierre and Roubiol secure double French triumph

Patrick Ryan
Published on
Endure 24
How Far Will You Go? UK's Biggest 24hr Trail Race

Marion Delespierre and Benjamin Roubiol gave France a double win in the World Mountain and Trail Running Championships WMTRC 2023 long trail race.

Both came from further back in the field to snatch victory from the race leaders, overtaking their opponents on the Nordkette mountain range not far from the finish.

The 86.9km of route started in Neustift, taking runners to Innsbruck along a path which had 6,500m of elevation gain.


Delespierre on top of tight pack

The hopes of victory for Delespierre and the rest of the women’s field were lifted when just 18km into the race, defending champion and pre-race favourite Blandine L’Hirondel had to pull out following the loop around Stubai. 

From that point on it was Czech runner Marcela Vasinova who burst into the lead, but on the climb to Hoad, around 44km in, the German Katharina Hartmuth drew level with her and eventually pulled away. 

She looked set for victory, but out of the chasing pack- at one point late in the race the top nine were all within a distance of four to five minutes of the leader – emerged Delespierre. She moved rapidly up the route to Nordkette, fighting her way past the German and powering down the mountain.  

She arrived in Innsbruck as WMTRC 2023 long trail women’s champion, her time reading 11:22:31. Harmuth held on for second, six minutes behind the victory, with another French runner third in the form of Manon Bohard Cailler. 

The women’s podium at WMTRC 2023 long trail. (credit: WMTRC 2023/Roast Media)

Roubiol takes surprise win

Aged just 23 years-old, Roubiol was not touted as one of the main favourites before the race but he emerged from the pack to take a stunning victory in the men’s field of the WMTRC 2023 long trail.

For much of the race, Italian Andreas Reiterer led after a trio of Japanese runners burnt out following an early breakaway attempt with early race leader Yamato Yoshino eventually failing to complete the course.

The Italian’s lead got as large as six minutes, but like Hartmuth in the women’s race the climb to Nordkette proved his undoing. Emerging from the chasing pack came the young Roubiol, eventually passing the leader and storming down from the Nordkette into Innsbruck as winner in a time of 9:52:59.

Holding on to second, Reiterer finished over seven minutes back from the winner while Slovakian runner Peter Fraňo took the final podium spot with a time of 10:02:10.

The much fancied German Hannes Namberger finished back in 14th, while Thomas Joly de Lotbiniare was the fastest British runner- he finished 11th in a time of 10:22:39. A US trio of Drew Holmen, Zach Miller and Eric Lipuma took places five through eight.

Men’s podium at WMTRC 2023 long trail. (credit: WMTRC 2023/Roast Media)

WMTRC 2023 long trail results

WMTRC 2023 long trail men’s race results

1Benjamin RoubiolFRA9:52:59
2Andreas ReitererITA10:00:46
3Peter FraňoSVK10:02:10

WMTRC 2023 long trail women’s race results

1Marion DelespierreFRA11:22:31
2Katharina HarmuthGER11:19:14
3Manon Bohard CaillerFRA11:24:22
Patrick Ryan
Written by
Patrick Ryan
Patrick is a major contributor to TRI247 and RUN247. A keen hiker with wide experience in sports journalism, he has covered the Olympics and Commonwealth Games.


In episode 1 of our new SBRX Show we sit down with ultra runners and coaches Kim and Jayson Cavill to get their take on the Barkley Marathons and triathlon & trail running gear reviews, training tips and more

Latest Running News

Courtney Dauwalter crosses the line to take victory at the 2023 UTMB
Courtney Dauwalter’s ‘superpower’ showcased in fantastic new film ‘A Team Sport’
XTERRA Eryri will hosts the Trail World Championships in 2025
XTERRA Trail Run World Championship heading to the UK in 2025
lukas ehrle celebrates his win at the Montemuro Vertical Run 2024 [Photo credit: WMRA / Marco Gulberti]
Flights chaos not enough to stop Lukas Ehrle at the Montemuro Vertical Run
Courtney Dauwalter after winning UTMB 2023.
‘I climbed aboard the puke train’ – Courtney Dauwalter reveals ‘really hard day’ at Hardrock
Courtney Dauwalter Transgrancanaria win [Photo credit: The Adventure Bakery / The North Face Transgrancanaria]
Hardrock 100 results 2024: Dauwalter and Pommeret SMASH course records
trail running on your terms

Never miss out with our trail alerts & digest. Get a dose of adventure & inspiration with Boundless.

Invalid email address
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...