Speedy Scottish 5k Road Championships

Hot on the heels of hosting the British 100k championships, Run and Become and Sri Chinmoy hosted the Scottish 5km road championships on Friday evening. It saw a great turnout of Scottish runners and lived up to expectations in the competitive stakes!

In the men’s race GB International Kris Jones led a large group of runners at the 3km point. The Dundee Hawkhill Harrier, winner in 2017, proved the stronger in the last 2km and reclaimed the title in a swift 14 minutes 26 seconds, just 9 seconds outside the course record time Callum Hawkins posted in 2016.

Kris Jones winner Scottish 5k road championships
Kris Jones, men’s winner of the Scottish 5k road championships

His young Dundee club mate Jamie Donald followed in 14.31 and with that claimed the Scottish under 20 title. Last years champion, Lachlan Oates from Shettleston was 3rd, in 14.39.

The women’s race was also keenly contested. GB Cross Country International, Mhairi Maclennan from Inverness Harriers was 2 seconds ahead of Central’s Morag Millar at 3km. Over the last 2 km Millar edged ahead to finish in a new course record time, and personal road PB of 15.49 (see photo in header). 20 seconds inside the 16.09 set by Maddy Murray in 2016. Mclennan, 6 seconds behind in 15,55 was also inside the old course record. Shettleston’s Irish international Fionnuala Ross was 3rd in 16.18. Zoe Pflug form Edinburgh Uniiversity took the under 20 title.

Although not eligible for Championship medals there were outstanding runs from 15 year old Anna Hedley off Fife AC to finish 5th lady overall in 16.54 and 16 year old Hamish Armitt, Giffnock North, who recorded an excellent 14.41 in finishing 4th overall.

In the older age groups Stuart Johnson, EAC just edged out Kerry Liam Wilson of Cambuslang, 15.43 to 15.44 in the men’s V/40. Scott MacDonald, Moorfoots, took the v/50 in 16.19, and Alistair Walker, Teviotdale, the V/60 in 17.20. Dave Cooney, Cambuslang was first V/70 in 24.38

Women’s veteran winners were Lesley Chisholm, Garscube, V/40 in 17.52, Fiona Mathieson, Falkirk, V/50 in 18.08. Innes Bracegirdle, Fife, V/60 22.14 and Pat Allen, Motherwell, V/70, 27.40

In the traditionally hotly contested team competition, Edinburgh University Hares and Hounds were clear winners ahead of Corstorphine in the men’s race with Cambuslang snatching the bronze medals by a point from Central AC. Inverness claimed the Women’s team ahead of Central, with Edinburgh Uni Hares & Hounds third.

The traditional strength in depth was again evident with 100th place being 16 min 19 seconds, 206 runners inside 18 minutes and 327 in total breaking the 20 minute barrier.

Full results can be found HERE

Latest Running News

UTMB World Series adds Kitz Alps Trail to schedule
Valsir extend WMRA World Cup partnership for two more years
Canfranc, Spain announced as 2024 World Masters Championship hosts
UTMB World Series announces new South Africa race
Kullamannen by UTMB: Boucheix breaks course record