RUN247 / Running News / Trail Running News / Trans Jeju by UTMB 2023: Tao Luo and Wenrong Zheng win 100K race in South Korea

Trans Jeju by UTMB 2023: Tao Luo and Wenrong Zheng win 100K race in South Korea

Olly Green
Published on
Endure 24
How Far Will You Go? UK's Biggest 24hr Trail Race

Chinese runners dominated the 100K and 50K races at the 2023 Trans Jeju by UTMB.

The UTMB World Series event on the volcanic island of Jeju in South Korea is one of the biggest trail running festivals in Asia.

The UNESCO World Heritage site of Hallasan National Park played host to two days of racing over the weekend, including 100K, 50K and 20K category events.


Chinese excellence

Tao Luo fronted an all-Chinese podium in the men’s 100K racer at Trans Jeju, finishing the 111km course in 9:18:09.

Tao Luo after finishing third at the 2019 OCC
Tao Luo after finishing third at the 2019 OCC [Photo credit: UTMB]

Luo, who was ninth in the UTMB OCC last month and won the Nice Côte d’Azur by UTMB 50K last year, finished just over four minutes clear of Guido Qin while third-place Jio Duo was some 22 minutes back from the race winner.

In the women’s 100K, there was another Chinese winner as Wenrong Zheng crossed the line in 12:22:46.

It proved a tight finale as Zheng edged out compatriot Lin Chen by just four seconds. Japan’s Kanako Edamoto took third as the only non-Chinese representative on either of the 100K podiums.

The 50K races also produced wins for Chinese runners as Xingjing Li took the men’s crown and Fuzhao Xiang claimed the women’s title.

Trans Jeju by UTMB
Trans Jeju by UTMB [Photo credit: UTMB]

Li clocked 4:27:07 in the 56km race to overcome Japan’s Ryunosuke Omi and China’s Guangfu Meng by 10 and 20 minutes respectively.

Xiang, who finished fourth at this year’s Ultra Trail du Mont Blanc (UTMB) won the Ultra-Trail Ninghai by UTMB UTNH105 in April, fronted another all-Chinese podium, stopping the clock in 5:06:46 – almost half an hour clear of Anna Li and an hour ahead of Xin Wang.


British winner

The 20K race saw a British winner as Harry Tabor stormed to victory in the men’s race in 1:26:56, besting two South Koreans in Heung-geun Park and Jaemin Kim.

The women’s 20K was won by another European runner – France’s Helene Juramy – with the Korean duo of Youngdeog Yu and Kihyeon An completing the podium.

Trans Jeju by UTMB results

Trans Jeju by UTMB 100K (Jeju100K) men’s results

  1. Tao Luo (CHN) – 9:18:09
  2. Guido Qin (CHN) – 9:22:29
  3. Jio Duo (CHN) – 9:40:14

Trans Jeju by UTMB 100K (Jeju100K) women’s results

  1. Wenrong Zheng (CHN) – 12:22:46
  2. Lin Chen (CHN) – 12:22:50
  3. Kanako Edamoto (JAP) – 12:40:36

Trans Jeju by UTMB 50K (Jeju50K) men’s results

  1. Xingjing Li (CHN) – 4:27:07
  2. Ryunosuke Omi (JAP) – 4:36:50
  3. Guangfu Meng (CHN) – 4:48:45

Trans Jeju by UTMB 50K (Jeju50K) women’s results

  1. Fuzhao Xiang (CHN) – 5:06:46
  2. Anna Li (CHN) – 5:33:25
  3. Xin Wang (CHN) – 6:06:46

Trans Jeju by UTMB 20K (Jeju20K) men’s results

  1. Harry Tabor (GBR) – 1:26:56
  2. Heung-geun Park (KOR) – 1:34:14
  3. Jaemin Kim (KOR) – 1:34:36

Trans Jeju by UTMB 20K (Jeju20K) women’s results

  1. Helene Juramy (FRA) – 1:39:22
  2. Youngdeog Yu (KOR) – 1:46:02
  3. Kihyeon An (KOR) – 1:47:19

Full results are available HERE.

Olly Green
Written by
Olly Green
Olly is the content lead for RUN247, is a regular contributor to TRI247 and keeps an eye out for content that appeals to both audiences including interviews with pro Heather Jackson.


In episode 1 of our new SBRX Show we sit down with ultra runners and coaches Kim and Jayson Cavill to get their take on the Barkley Marathons and triathlon & trail running gear reviews, training tips and more

Latest Running News

Kipngeno and Njeru win credit Jonathan Wyatt
Kipngeno and Njeru kick off Mountain Running World Cup in style with dominant wins
Runners at the 2022 Comrades Marathon
Secret timing points set to expose course-cutting cheats at Comrades Marathon
Allie McLaughlin Broken Arrow 2023 photo credit Peter Maksimow
Stellar startlists as Broken Arrow kicks off 2024 Valsir Mountain Running World Cup
Chris Cope crosses the finish line to win the 2024 race photo credit Montane Summer Spine
Chris Cope and Sue Straw prove a class apart in the 268-mile Summer Spine Race
Cat Simpson female winner South Downs Way 100 2024 photo credit Centurion Running and World Trail Majors
Gladiator 2 filming almost re-routes leaders in South Downs Way 100 ultramarathon race
trail running on your terms

Never miss out with our trail alerts & digest. Get a dose of adventure & inspiration with Boundless.

Invalid email address
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...