RUN247 / Running News / Record-breaking Meek and Parrish claim Cape Wrath Ultra titles

Record-breaking Meek and Parrish claim Cape Wrath Ultra titles

Patrick Ryan
Published on
Endure 24
How Far Will You Go? UK's Biggest 24hr Trail Race

David Parrish and Jo Meek have won the 2023 Cape Wrath Ultra, holding on to their leads on the final day to reach the Cape Wrath lighthouse as men’s and women’s champions respectively. 

Jo Meek has set a new women’s record with her total time of 52:09:56. Bith her and Parrish led the mammoth 400km, eight-day race from near start to finish, and they finally earned victory after completing the final day. 

Parrish topped a podium which also featured runner-up Fernando Alvarez and third-placed Sam Hill, while Meek (fifth overall) was followed by Elaine Bisson and Jana Szczepaniak in the women’s race. 


Coronation at the Cape Wrath lighthouse

Both with significant leads, victory was all but certain for the Parrish and Meek before day eight even started. 

The two Cape Wrath Ultra race leaders were the first runners to leave the final camp as they headed out on the last 26km from Kinlochbervie, along Sandwood Bay and to the finish at the UK’s most north-westerly point. 

Photo Credit: No Limits Photography.

Meek’s race has been extraordinary, with her 03:21:12 on the final day helping her set a new record, nearly 50 minutes faster than Sally Fawcett’s 2021 time of 52:56:23. Bisson finished in a time of 55:26:32 with Szczepaniak over three hours back, finishing with 58:46:47 on the clock.

Parrish ran the final leg of the Cape Wrath Ultra in a time of 02:52:40, bringing his total running time to 45:28:48. He finished two and a half hours quicker than Spaniard Alvarez, who had a cumulative time of 47:53:27. Hill earnt third with the only other sub-50-hour finish, with 49:31:52 total running time. 

Stage reports

Day one | Day two | Day three | Day four | Day five | Day six Day seven | Day eight


Cape Wrath Ultra final standings


  1. David Parrish (GBR) – 45:28:48
  2. Fernando Alvarez (ESP) – 47:53:27
  3. Sam Hill (GBR) – 49:31:52


  1. Jo Meek (GBR) – 52:09:56
  2. Elaine Bisson (GBR) – 55:26:32
  3. Jana Szczepaniak (GBR) – 58:46:47
Patrick Ryan
Written by
Patrick Ryan
Patrick is a major contributor to TRI247 and RUN247. A keen hiker with wide experience in sports journalism, he has covered the Olympics and Commonwealth Games.


In episode 1 of our new SBRX Show we sit down with ultra runners and coaches Kim and Jayson Cavill to get their take on the Barkley Marathons and triathlon & trail running gear reviews, training tips and more

Latest Running News

Katie Schide wins Canyons Endurance Runs 2024 photo credit UTMB
Walmsley and Schide favourites as Western States line-ups are finalised
Gerda Steyn Comrades Marathon presentation 2024 photo credit Comrades Marathon
Record-breaker Gerda Steyn reveals ASTONISHING Comrades Marathon masterplan
Russ Cook completes his epic run across the entire length of Africa [Photo credit: The Snapshot People Ltd]
‘Hardest Geezer’ running to every England game at Euro 2024 – and calls it a “doddle”
Maude Mathys wins the Tenerife Bluetrail by UTMB 2024 photo credit UTMB
Maude Mathys surprises herself again with all-the-way win at Tenerife Bluetrail by UTMB
Comrades Marathon 2024 Piet Wiersma presentation photo credit Comrades Marathon
‘I’ve made a weakness into a strength’ says Comrades hero Piet Wiersma
trail running on your terms

Never miss out with our trail alerts & digest. Get a dose of adventure & inspiration with Boundless.

Invalid email address
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...